Simplifying Life

 JAC-44

My 2014 Word of the Year

For our New Year Resolutions this year the third graders all chose one word to be their word for the year, but I just couldn’t put my finger on the one word I wanted to focus my year on.  I considered Simplicity (of course), Relax, Peace, Happiness, Joy, and Encouragement, but none seemed to be what I was looking for.  After a depressing Monday of realizing the house I am in love with is not going to be in our budget, I finally discovered my word. CONTENT! While I have been trying to live a more simpler life, I would love to be living it out in my own tiny farmhouse in the middle of nowhere, instead of my city apartment.  My desire to live more simply comes from the desire to be content in life, no matter what stage of life I am in.  I had fallen away from being content by consuming my thoughts about a home and a new puppy.  I pictured myself in the vegetable garden in our backyard with the kids running around and the dogs barking by, and suddenly my life now didn’t seem so great.  I had to hit the reset button on my heart and my mind and get back to reality and be appreciative of what I have.  So with such a strong desire to move on to new stages in life, what better word for me than Content!  Growing up, my mom always used to say, “Be happy with the stage of life you are in because you can never go back.” I am truly blessed with so many things and my life is wonderful, worry-free, and happy.  My husband and I don’t have anyone relying on us, not even any small pets, we are debt free, and we were both blessed with teaching jobs despite how scarce the jobs have been lately.  Life is easy for now and I can be thankful for that.

“I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation…”
~ Philippians 4:12
We'd Love To Hear From You

