A Most Wonderful Day

AUGUST 26, 2016

In life there are those occasional days when everything goes so wonderfully perfect that you never want it to end, today was when those days.

image

As I walked through the dew covered grass this morning with baby on my hip, letting out the cats and chickens, I couldnt help but think how grateful I am for the life we have. We sat outside and enjoyed the sweet simplicity of our lives watching the animals scamper about.

image

We collected eggs and veggies, which Danny loves to touch.  Right now Betty is broody, trying to sit on and hatch every thing possible including ping-pong balls and an empty nest.  I drag her out of the box multiple times a day trying to break her of the habit, but so far it isnt working. Looks like tomorrow shes going to have to spend a day in the dog cage to break her.

image

Thankfully she isnt mean to me when shes broody and will let me drag her out of the nesting box without a fight. However, she does take it out on the cats and chases them around until they find a place of safety to escape to. Also, we just discovered that Dorothy, our mean chicken that Ive been having run-ins with, is actually a rooster.  Ive been wondering about it for a while, but finally got the confirmation as he let out a crow the other morning. For now, hes Little Jerry, but I dont know how long hell be around. I do love the sound of a crowing rooster, but I dont like the thought of having to worry about fertilized eggs. I think I have kicked him into submission so the meanness is under control.  Even the chickens now boss him around, so I dont think I will have any more trouble with him.

The cats are super social, constantly wanting to be around little Danny who absolutely adores them.

image

In Pollys eyes, he can do no wrong, and shes always found by his side. Either in his stroller, or in the car, (yes she accidentally snuck in the car and spent the night in there) shes always close behind.

image

imageimageimage

Danny has become our little daredevil wanting to climb more than he wants to walk.  Today he refused to sit down in the stroller and loved being pushed around while standing.  And of course the kitties are right there nearby.

image

image

image

We took a trip to Lowes today to get mulch and a hinge for the cat door because the chickens have figured out how to go into the cat shed and eat cat food.  😝

image

I decided to attempt putting both babies in the stroller because having one baby in the seat and one in the cart leaves room for absolutely nothing. Now that both babies can sit up I decided it was worth a try. It was a success and they looked so cute riding around in the little car together!

image

I was worried Danny wouldnt be able to keep his hands to himself, since hes big into kissing other babies, but it never was an issue. They got along perfectly fine, although Danny wanted to use both steering wheels.

image

There were Halloween blow ups everywhere so it was very entertaining to the babies, making them quite content rolling around.  They loved staring and smiling at everybody who walked by.

image

Danny played in the stroller again we got home and the kitties were right there around him, each taking turns fighting over who got to sit inside the watering can.

image

image

Polly of course climbed inside with Danny and then got thrashed around by her ears so I made her get out.  I dont know why she lets him do that.

image

Danny definitely is our little explorer and I keep reminding myself of that. At times I can find myself getting frustrated because hes destroying something I just cleaned, sticking his hands and my coffee, licking the dog, kissing the kitties or the vacuum, (yeah he did tha) or just getting into where he doesnt belong.

image

image

image

But despite all that, I love how he wants to explore and learn and I dont want to quench his little spirit.  I am constantly reminding myself that theres a difference between getting frustrated over things hes doing because Im just annoyed, versus actually needing to stop him due to a safety reasons.  Im learning to have to sit back and not get done what I want to get done and just enjoy the time at home.  These times may be messy, chaotic, unpredictable and tiresome but they are also simple and sweet. Theres a gentle peacefulness in the midst of it all that one day we wont have because he will be older and in a new stage of life.

image

I am sure God intentionally programmed all babies to desire messes just so we all learn to get over ourselves and that we cant control our life.  So, I must chase him around with my finger stirred coffee as he makes a mess with everything he does and be grateful for my joyful explorer.

image

To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven

Ecc 3:1

image

We'd Love To Hear From You

