Baby’s Dedication

After missing it every time it came up, We finally dedicated Danny at church on Mother’s day this year.  He is truly and gift from God and such a wonderful blessing in our lives.

We’ve had his verse picked for him way before he was born.  I stumbled across it when I was pregnant and it is my prayer that it becomes true in his life.  When I read it two years ago, I couldn’t come up with a better way to express how I want Christ and the word of God to be in the hearts of my children.  I’ve never heard anyone else use it and thought it might be weird to others, since it didn’t fall into the normal verses people pick, but it was so clear that this was to be my prayer for my children.

As his dedication day approached, I happened to mention to my mom that we picked an abnormal passage in Ephesians three and she knew exactly which one.  I guess years ago that was the very same set of verses she picked for our family and has prayed them over us throughout out lives.  Even though she never told me about it until now, God has been instilling these truths in my life to the point that 25 years later I settled on the same passage for my baby.

Is his word living and active or what?!

I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power though his spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith.  And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have the power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.  Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Ephesians 3:16-21

We'd Love To Hear From You

